Awards ceremony for 2020

Posted on


Eastbourne rovers Club Awards for the 2020 season.
As you are aware we could not hold our usual awards presentation evening but decided to still give out some main awards to athletes who had done well during the shortened 2020 season.
Brian Brett continued his training sessions along the seafront during lockdown and went to the Olympic Park to complete a 10K in 33.32 mins – for Don Starr 10k award
James Stephen was also busy putting in the miles along the seafront and was rewarded with a personal best in the U17 1500m in Lewes when he ran 4m42.34 to take the ‘Mile Cup’.
There were not many Cross country races before COVID struck but Eleanor Strevens kept the rovers vest at the front of the field. Ilya Korchev always works hard in training on his own and with the group and was rewarded with a personal best in the park run. These athletes received the junior cross country awards.
The ‘Best Performance Junior female’ went to Eleanor Strevens for her U15 run in the 1500m when she ran a superb 4m47.67.
The ‘Best Performance Junior male’ went to Matt Grindrod who continues to improve his 800m time recording 1m59.37 which put him 19th in the South East forU20.
Harriet Armstrong competed in the U17 triple jump clearing a massive 10m94 and was awarded the ‘Best Performance Female’.
Bailey Wright’s second place at the South of England Championships Senior 100m was a terrific run clocking 10.65 and so takes the ‘Best Performance Male Award’.
As athletes we expect junior members to improve each year as they grow stronger and more experienced so it is even more amazing when a Vet 40 leaps to a personal best in the long jump. Cara Maker did this indoors last winter with a massive 5m06 and has since clocked some very respectable times in the 100m and 200m so collects the ‘Most improved Female’
The ‘most improved Male ‘ went to U15 Ben Brown who improved his 1500m by 10secs to 4m58.23.
Anna Chaplin is the friendly face everyone one meets when arriving at the track. She spent time sorting out subscriptions for paying online and attends training evenings even when her daughter is not training so a worthy recipient of the Carol Russell Award
Stuart Pelling is our SAL team manager and it is due to his enthusiasm and motivation that the team won their division in 2019. Stuart also helps officiate as he is a qualified starter and is continually ‘giving back to the club’ so thoroughly deserves the ‘ LeRoy Trophy’
The Jim Lindsay Trophy is awarded to a member of the club who has given up a lot of their time to help the club. Mike Thompson as chairman has had a hard first year sorting out a new cage, covid and now losing our facilities so well deserves this.
Janis joined our club in 1953. She has held more or less every position on the committee from Secretary, treasurer, fixtures and team manager . She loves keeping club records which she has done since 1965.
She has run our home fixtures since then as well as the Sx U15 league. Eastbourne has always had a good reputation for organising well run meetings due to Janis leading the way ! She now feels it is time to have a well deserved rest!
She is still our president and will hopefully continue her interest in our club for many more years. BUT we owe her a BIG Thank you.

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:
  • This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Add a comment